The Social List: 2nd Chop

IMG_5917

Patatas Bravas

Where: Fourth Streets Retro Row; 2105 E 4th St Long Beach, Ca

Grub: “Old World European Tavern Food” Tapas-style

Visiting Hours: Lunch & Din Din

My Plates: Frisee Salad, Toast, the LBC, Patatas Bravas, Liquid Gold, Persimmon Cobbler

Website: http://thesociallistlb.com

IG: thesociallistlb

When you go on a date do you usually just give the other person one shot? Or if there aren’t any major red flags and there was something that caught your eye even a bit wouldn’t you give it another try? A lot of people deserve a second chance…so do restaurants. That is why I decided one time at a spot isn’t enough–hence my 3 chop policy. Sometimes things just need a bit of warming up. There are so many variables that come into play upon a first meeting that can sabotage the experience. Over time, if management is doing its job and play their cards right, these variables start to dissolve and the dining experience is perfected and becomes more consistent. I am happy to say that the Social List is not the same place I visited before. It is starting to develop a soul and culture…and the food is pretty damn incredible.

IMG_5910

Frisee Salad

Frisee salad with burrata, pomegranate seeds and persimmon. This has to be one of my favorite salads of all time. Burrata is mozzarella injected with cream heaven that I want to put all over everything. The bitterness of the frisee with the sweetness of the light dressing, persimmon and seeds is just perfect. There is no doubt that I will order this salad every time I go back to the Social List. Well-done. So simple, and yet so perfect…every ingredient just makes sense–that is a hard thing to do!

IMG_5912

Toast

The Social List knows how to do toast…whether it be the Catalan Toast, the Pea Toast or this beauty–garlic toast with goat cheese, butternut squash and green onion. Another lovely medley of flavors that just works brilliantly. I would eat this every day for a snack or breakfast if I could. It really takes me back to when I lived in Germany and lived off of stuff like this. Simple and does the trick…next time I am definitely adding the prosciutto to take it to the next level. Pig makes everything better…we all know that is a fact.

\IMG_5914

The LBC

A little piece of Long Beach heaven on a California chopping block. it is hard to take pictures of burgers and sandwiches and this photo definitely doesn’t do this one justice. I am not a vegetarian (I once was for 4 years), but this makes me consider changing back to my old ways. This is honestly the best veggie burger option I have ever had. I hate concoctions trying to disguise themselves as meat…why do that when you can own the beauty of the ingredients for what they are? The portobello mushroom is grilled and packed with cheese and artichoke…then it is smothered in homemade pesto, topped with lettuce and served on a very fresh ciabatta bun. Next time I am adding avocado and bacon, but I had to try it the original way first. This thing is insane and a must!

IMG_5916

Patatas Bravas

Lightly fried potatoes covered with aioli, spicy sauce and fresh dill. These are just a staple. I liked them as much this time around as I did the first. I don’t need to repeat myself.

IMG_5921

Liquid Gold

Another staple and the dessert I will forever bestow loyalty to. I don’t need to repeat myself on this one either. It makes sense this time around as much as it did the first.

IMG_5920

Persimmon Cobbler

It is a hard position to be in, going up against the liquid gold, so don’t take it too personally when I tell you you just didn’t do it for me. This thing was super toasty, crispy and had a great texture to it, but there was something that was just missing. It was a bit bland and for some reason I had a desire to cover it in honey or maple syrup. Maybe I will carry a little bottle in my purse for next time. 🙂

The Social List left me very content and satisfied this go around. I still don’t really understand their concept and the aesthetic is a bit weird and confusing to me, but I will just go in on Wednesdays when they have 1/2 off bottles of wine so I can drink and forget about it. So glad that they added some drink specials! Now where are the food specials? That is when we can start getting really real…this place is a bit too pricey for my budget and I would love some serious happy hour options. Toast sampler? Smaller plate of patatas? With all their small plate options the potential is endless! Please, please, help this poor foodie out. Otherwise, see you in a few months.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment